This is technically an art blog, yes, but for some reason it’s starting to magically morph into a place for me to give myself advice and for people to occasionally look at my inane personal reminders. So for this week’s assignment: an A-Z list post! That’s right, folks, twenty six whole pieces of advice/words having to do with being an insecure high school student with a passion for drawing. I should just stop calling this blog an art blog, honestly. It’s more of a “window into the life and inner workings of Aubren Kubicki” blog.

Ability – Forget about it. You don’t need to have any kind of “creative ability” to be an artist. You just need a brain, a body, and something to make art with.

Balance – This refers to not only balance as a principle of art, which can be used to give your artworks more cohesiveness and aesthetic appeal, but also to your time and just your life in general. Don’t let your art eat up all of your spare time. On the other hand, don’t let other activities get in the way of you doing your art. A healthy balance is the ideal.

Creativity – Don’t you dare tell me you’re not creative. If you want to be an artist, chances are you’ve got loads of this, even if you tell yourself otherwise. You’ve got more of a capacity for creativity than you know.

Do it. – Cut the excuses, cut the whining, and just do it. It’s so much harder to start something than it is to finish it. Trust me, once you have your artwork started, you won’t be able to stop.

Emphasis – If you really want to draw your viewer’s eye to one part of your art, you’re gonna use emphasis. This can be done in many different ways: use a color that pops off the piece, create a composition with the part you want to emphasize in the center, etc. This one is a legit piece of advice. I learned it in my art classes. Professional artists actually use this. It’s not just me pretending I know what I’m talking about, I swear.

Friends – Build up a community of artist friends. Focus on backing each other up with constructive criticism and helpful insight, not tearing each other down with envy and insults. Just because you love the way a friend of yours might do art doesn’t mean they’re better than you. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: everyone’s got a unique style that suits them.

Gratitude – Learn to accept compliments graciously  (because people will undoubtedly compliment you on whatever you’ve done). Don’t reply with “oh, it’s not that great, I really messed up here.” Reply with a simple “thank you” and a smile. This applies not only to art, but to life in general. Accepting compliments is an important skill to have.

Hardworking – Just like any other job in life, if you’re going to be an artist and you’re going to be a good artist, you have to be willing to work at it. If you give up immediately, you’re not going to get any better at whatever it is you want to be really good at.

Inspiration – Like I said in one of my previous posts, it’s okay to take inspiration from other artists and from the world around you. It’s not stealing if you’re putting your own unique spin on it. Personally, much of my inspiration for my artworks has come from artists that I greatly admire – some are even my friends! See letter F, y’all.

JUST DO IT. – Okay, this is kind of lazy, because it basically stands for the same thing as what I put for letter D, just with another word at the beginning. But I can’t resist the opportunity to insert a reference to a meme, let’s be real.

Kill the competition. – Don’t actually do this. This is a joke. I repeat: do not kill people just because some dumb girl on a dumb blog told you to. You will cause irreplaceable damage to a lot of things and ultimately will end up in jail. Plus I don’t want to be considered responsible for inspiring manslaughter.

Listen – To your peers, to your teachers, to your friends, to experts, to people who do art for a living. Absorb all the information you can from people who know what they’re talking about.

Markers – I have to devote a letter to one of my favorite art supplies of all time: Copic markers. They are my babies and I love them. They are also very, very expensive. Sigh.

NO ESCAPE – Once you’re in the art pit, you’re stuck in the art pit. Welcome to hell. Also I couldn’t think of anything else to put for N.

Observation – Draw! From! Life! Seriously. Draw your teacher in math class on your notes when you’re supposed to be paying attention. Draw the new shoes you just got that you’re super excited about. Draw your pet. Draw your siblings. Draw, draw, draw, draw, draw from life.

Pencil – From an essential writing utensil to an artist’s favorite tool, pencils have always got your back. Shoutout to all the pencils I’ve lost, broken, and given away to irresponsible classmates over the years. You’re the reason I’m sitting here today.

Questions – Ask them. Again, advice that applies to life in general. If you want to know more about something, ask someone who knows a lot about that thing. This should pretty much be common knowledge, but I still have to remind myself to do it sometimes.

Road blocks – Just as writer’s block is a thing, so is artist’s block. And it sucks.

Sketch – You all know what a sketch is, I hope. But don’t just sketch. Scribble, scratch, mold, melt, print, squish, fold, cut, press, mash, stain. Use those hands. Those are artist hands now.

Teach – Just as you should listen to others, don’t be afraid to tell them things you’ve learned too. Even if they might already know it, your advice is still worth sharing.

Ugly – Make things that are ugly. Maybe they just turn out ugly, or maybe you make them ugly on purpose. Regardless, sometimes ugly art is one of the best kinds. It will always make a statement, plus give you even more experience to either change it so it’s not ugly anymore, or change it so it’s even uglier, depending on which you prefer.

Variety – Pretty sure I’ve also said this before, but don’t limit yourself to only certain art styles or mediums or even just poses or objects that you’re drawing. Do everything! You might find something you really love.

Worth – Even if your art doesn’t sell for millions of dollars, it’s still worth something. It’s an expression of you, your creativity and who you are, and that makes it worth a lot in my book.

X – What the heck am I supposed to do for X???? X is a hard letter. We’re skipping X.

Yarp – Yarp.

Zeal – Put a lot of passion into what you do!!! If you love it, chances are so will other people.

So I got a little lazy here at the end, but that’s okay. Also, apologies if I sound like a broken record. I promise I’ll start posting more art on here and fewer mindless ramblings of spouted wisdom that’s really just nonsense. Still, thank you to those of you who even bother reading my posts! It means a lot to me that there’s someone out there who will listen to the journalism class assignment spoutings of a seventeen year old.

 

 

 

One thought on “an aspiring artist’s alphabet

Leave a Reply

